FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Latest setups for reefs

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group

Pet Store
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Latest setups for reefs
    Posted: November 09 2003 at 11:31pm

Hi, I've been keeping fish for several years now.  Started a reef tank about 8 years ago.  Used the Jaubert plenum for the whole period.  Tank was incredible for 4 or 5 of those years.  Then I moved, replacing the live sand mixed with geo-marine from Caribsea with the more concentrated aragonite forumula.  Was busy at work for a while, and before I knew it, the 4 year old clam was bleaching and red algae was coming.  Always used a protein skimmer in tandem, but neglected it during the bad year.  Now I'm moving and in the process of setting up the tank yet again. 

Question:  Is it still generally accepted in the latest literature that the plenum system in conjuction with a protein skimmer is the best way to go?  I have not picked up a magazine in several years. If so, is it still the 2 to 5mm size at 4 inches depth? Thanks, help would be appreciated.

Flaz View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 10 2003 at 7:32am

I'd say the latest trend in reef keeping is the deep sand bed method with a refugium tank (around 4-8 inches of sand in the bed depending on who you ask).  Based on my reading I'd say it's taking over the plenum systems.  Skimmers are still up for debate but I think the majority of people still employ some type of skimming (I personally use a very large/efficient skimmer on my tank).

KeoDog View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KeoDog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 10 2003 at 8:14am