Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Initial Tank Setup

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Slick Eelie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Slick Eelie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Initial Tank Setup
    Posted: September 20 2006 at 2:20pm
I am new to the hobby and need some advice. 

I just set up a 90 gallon tank.  I was wondering when I will get the ammonia spike that I've heard about.  It has been about 2 weeks and the ammonia is still at 0 ppm.  I used RO/DI water, 70 lbs of cured live rock, and about 150 lbs of CaribSea Aragonite sand.  I have two canister filters and a UV sterilizer running.  Inside the tank I have 3 power heads running (rio 1700, Maxijet 1200, Powehead 802).  I haven't finished the canopy, so there is no lighting at the moment.  I also haven't put a heater in yet so the temp is at 70 degrees F.

I'm anxious to add fish, but I don't want to kill anything.  Any advice would be appreciated.
thanks,
James Mellor

Eagle Mountain

210 gallon reef
amorgenegg View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amorgenegg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 20 2006 at 2:25pm
James,
Are you seeing any nitrates?  Do you have any algaes that have started growing?  If so, what color are the algaes, and what do they look like?  If the rock was really completely cured then it might have already had both bacteria colonies and they could have quickly established in the new tank.
Andrew Morgenegg

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Slick Eelie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 20 2006 at 3:01pm