Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Black Ich and UV?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ntrider View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ntrider Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Black Ich and UV?
    Posted: April 17 2007 at 4:38pm
Since this is my first post I would like to say hello and that I really enjoy this site.  This is my first time with saltwater and I have relied on this site for a lot of answers to my questions, can't get enough of the search button.

My first tank was a 10 gal that was setup in Sept. 2006, with some nudging from a friend to go sw and not fw.  After enjoying the 10 for 6 months I went bigger to a 55 gal and thats where I have been since feb. My first post will be one about my orange shoulder tang and Black Ich. From what I have searched, this is one website that I found, http://saltaquarium.about.com/cs/compldiagnodisease/a/aa041701.htm. I do have some pics but It looks like I cant post them on this forum. If their is a way to please let me know.

I have read about doing a freshwater dip follow by formalin treatment or flat worm exit; but I was wondering about UV lights.  I believe I have read that UV is excellent for controlling ich, but I was wanting to make sure that white and black ich are the same, as in flatworms,  and will be treated the same with the UV sterilization.

TIA
Steve
Will Spencer View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Will Spencer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 17 2007 at 11:32pm
Steve, White and Black ick are not the same.  They are different bugs.  But they act very much alike.

White Ick is a Ciliate protozoan called Cryptocaryon irritans.  It's symptoms are small white spots on the body surface and fins.