Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

What are good corals for newbies?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
PDoug View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PDoug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What are good corals for newbies?
    Posted: June 21 2007 at 11:57pm
I am new to the whole corral thing. brand new. So I am wondering what are good corals for newbies. I find the fish aspect not all that different from freshwater. But the whole addition of calcium and all that jazz yeah. It complicates stuff. I would like some color and anything anybody spouts off I will check up on but I don't feel like learning through trial and error I mastered that oneEmbarrassed So I am going for a new skill LOL
(307)679-7898 Phillip Douglass 75 Gallon Reef Tank
jeffras View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jeffras Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 22 2007 at 12:01am
Softies (I have some for free/sell), zoos, mushrooms.

Then LPS (frogspawn, torch, etc)

Then SPS (best color, most difficult)
Jeff Rasmussen

Debbles View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Debbles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 22 2007 at 12:09am
I agree with Jeff, zoos and mushrooms are the easist.  My favorite corals are zoos.  My hubby loves mushrooms.  We both like frogspawn and hammers too. 
Yes Mikey...I still have fins!!!
Mike Savage View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mike Savage Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 22 2007 at 12:11am
Leathers are pretty easy too.

Mike

PDoug View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PDoug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 22 2007 at 12:12am