Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Halimeda Propagation

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Greenanemone View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Greenanemone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Halimeda Propagation
    Posted: September 11 2008 at 10:54pm
Hi reefers,

Please don't take offense at this BUT I am a Teacher and also a Horticulturist both by university degrees.  I get frustrated when we say "fragment"Thumbs%20Down then talk about a plant.

With my horticulture background I know that I can take a "cutting" of my halimeda to propagate it.  My question is--- how do I attach it to anything.Geek

I would love your recommendations on how to "propagate" my halimeda.

Hopefully no offense was taken.  I am not only a fish geek but a plant geek as well.

Ryan
Nobody is perfect! I'm a nobody!
Sculpin View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sculpin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 11 2008 at 11:02pm
Oh ya, I'm real offended .... LOL

Sculpin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Greenanemone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 11 2008 at 11:56pm
LOL---I can say that every hobby develops its own vocabulary-- boy do I know that.  But when vocabulary from two hobbies start to change the meanings---it is frustrating.  LOL

Glad to hear it Sculpin!  (Just kidding)

But seriously how do I frag, I mean, propagate my Halimeda. (insert chuckle)

Ryan
BobC63 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BobC63 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 12 2008 at 12:33am
I would think that you could affix it to a rock either with "reef safe" epoxy putty or good old Crazy glue... similar to the way you would attached a calcium-based hard coral fragment to a rock.