Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Advice needed

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Yindar View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Yindar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Advice needed
    Posted: October 21 2008 at 2:38pm
So I have a friend who wants to start up a Salt Water Tank.  He's looking to me for help (his first mistake! Clap) and I'm still learning as it is.  What I'd like is some advice from you guys/gals out there because I don't want to stear him wrong and have him ending up wasting money like I did when I got started in this.  Here's some questions I have for you. 

His tank is going to be 55 Gal.  He wants a reef eventually.

1)  What type of Lighting do you feel he should buy?
2)  How big of a sump/refugium should he have for this size of tank?
3)  What size of pump should he get?
4)  What size of Skimmer would he need?

I have my own ideas about these questions but again, I don't want to steer him wrong.  I'd like to see him do it right the first time. 
pa_reptileman_4 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pa_reptileman_4 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 21 2008 at 3:17pm
1) i would say if he wants a reef eventually to get the lights now, so he needs to decide on what type of lights he was either mh's, vho's, pc's.
2) as big as he can get
3) whatever he feels the need, i would say something around 500 gph
4) i would go with one that is rated for at least 2 x's the size of the tank.
pitiful guppy tank.
shane

Yindar View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Yindar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 21 2008 at 3:34pm
Thank you for the advice Reptileman Thumbs%20Up
bbeck4x4 View Drop Down