Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Replacement MH bulb

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
rick grigsby View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rick grigsby Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Replacement MH bulb
    Posted: March 16 2010 at 3:50pm
First of all I wanted to thank everyone for the previous help ( salwater noob here ).  I have a few questions:

1.  I purchased a used JBJ gallon nano as my first tank. It has 72 watts CF. Tank has multiple corals, SPS, mushrooms, Zoos, Palythos, Kenya trees, toadstools, finger leathers.  I removed the lighting and purchased a 150 w + 28 watt actinic light that is an Odyssea brand.  I know it is cheap.  I did this to see how it would go.  The corals actually really started growing and many of them are splitting/spreading/etc.  However, the light looks yellow to me.  I want to buy a 150 watt DE replacement bulb, but not sure if the ballast will fire a Phonnix or some of the nice bulbs.  Suggestions?  OH..yes I know it is cheap, but I plan on re-doing the lights in June.  Suggestions on that?
2.  Can zoos get too much light?  it seems the ones in the lower tank do well, but the ones at top seem not to be thriving.
3.  I change 5% water every other two weeks and the water parametrs are good.  Except for nitrates, I am still around 50 ppm but everybody seems happy.  Is this over/under doing it?
4.  How do you frag a hariy mushroom?  I ahve 2 that are at least 7 inches in diameter.
5.  I have fog spawn and Torch coral which are growing great..however, they are growing toward one another, is this a problem?
6.  I have a lot of macro algae growing in the corner of the tank.  Both green, one is Caulerpa and the other is the twisty green leaves.  i want to move these into the back and use one of the chamber for a refugium.  Suggestions on lights or doing this appreciated!

Thanks again!

Rick

12 gallon nano
24 gallon nano