Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

120 gallon DIY Stand- complete

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Corey Price View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Corey Price Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 120 gallon DIY Stand- complete
    Posted: November 22 2004 at 8:19pm

Well, here it is!  I've been waiting to have my first aquarium, and thanks to a lot of you folks, I've started.  Sorry if the picture is huge!  I'm still learning.

You can see the baseboard trim, but I don't have the molding around where the tank will sit yet.  The sides and doors are raised panel construction (doors not shown here).  I've chosen clear and knotty alder as the facade wood, with the standard 2x4 construction underneath. 

Thanks to everybody's advice, the stand is 42" from the floor to where the tank sits.

Does anyone know a good finish for this?  I've heard that spar varnish is good.

Edited by Corwando
ewaldsreef View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ewaldsreef Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 22 2004 at 9:59pm
I would just like to say thats looking good. I went with a much more simple design on my stand. I am just not that good with woodwork.
Contact me for professional aquarium maintenance and localy grown coral frags. [URL=http://www.aquatitranquility.com][/URL]

SSpargur View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SSpargur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 23 2004 at 6:55am
I love the woodwork.  Looks like it's going to be awesome.  Keep us apprised on your progress!
Sean Spargur
West Valley, UT
bugzme View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bugzme Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 23 2004 at 11:23am
where did you get the wood to cover the frame?
Jeff
125 tank
50 gallon sump
T-5 lighting