Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New here

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
superchud View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote superchud Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New here
    Posted: December 31 2010 at 4:05pm

Hi all,

I was directed to this site by a friend of mine.

I have been wanting to set up a salt water tank for some time now. And I have finally decided to take the plunge. This site has been a great deal of help thus far and I have only been on it for a few hours.

I have looked at purchasing a new tank 90+ gallons with all the fixins, however I have found there is quite a few used tanks out there. It seems like a used tank would be the way to go is that the case?

I am completely starting from scratch, and I have no experience in reef tanks, I have kept fresh water tanks for some time now, but I won’t be sacrificing any of those for this endeavor.

I am looking for some advice on how to get started and what to watch out for.

Thanks!

Chad

Reefboy4life View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reefboy4life Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 31 2010 at 4:06pm
I would try to get a nice used setup.
90 gallon mixed reef
Adam Blundell View Drop Down
Presidency
Presidency

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Adam Blundell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 31 2010 at 4:26pm
Welcome!
You'll find lots of help here.  Search around the buy sell trade area for great deals on used stuff popping up everyday.  But first, check out some tanks in your area and see what you like.  People are always willing to show off their tanks.

Adam
Come to a meeting, they’re fun!
Josh95 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Josh95 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 31 2010 at 4:42pm