Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Our Intro

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
lskurys View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lskurys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Our Intro
    Posted: September 01 2011 at 11:04am

Hello,

I am new to saltwater/ reef tanks.  I have a 75g tank which I have been using as a freshwater tank for nearly 4 years.  Unfortunately, I could not find a freshwater set-up that yielded enough variety.  I have heard so many wonderful things about saltwater, and I love the vibrant colors and shapes.  I started checking in to the cost of converting my tank from freshwater to salt. I went to several pet stores from Salt Lake City to Ogden.  Every stores sings a different song and dance.  One pet store told me that I could convert my take over for roughly $120 this was including salt, RO water, sand, and live rock.  To make a long story short, $1100 dollars later (yes that is right…$1100 not $120), I have a 75g all glass tank drilled with a center overflow, 90 pounds of sugar sand, 85 pounds of live rock, Coralife 108w light with (1) 10K and (1) act, 39g over flow split with refuge on half (this has an additional 15 pounds of sand), 770 gph return pump, and an old Berlin 25-250 skimmer. 

My goal is to be able to keep my expenditures down but grow all types of coral.  Do you have any suggestions on what I need for my tank?  What corals are best to start with?  Where are some good places to buy coral?  Suggestions on live rock?

On a side note, Ryan at Aquatic Dreams, has been great.  His showroom has several beautiful tanks.  He has given me a lot of useful advice, but I hate to keep bothering him.  If anyone out there can provide some much needed advice, I would greatly appreciate it. 

Thank you,

Shelby and Leslie

Aquaristnewbie View Drop Down