Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Hello

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
wick246 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wick246 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hello
    Posted: September 18 2011 at 6:47pm
Hi there,

My name is Chad and I stumbled across this forum while searching for info on salt water tanks. I have read some posts and have to commend you on how friendly and helpful you all are - it's quite refreshing. I am completely new to aquariums but am very interested in having a reef tank some day. My wife and I are hoping to buy a used tank sometime after the first of the year and beginning our adventure. We would like a 120 - 150 gallon tank with a very nice stand and and top to put in our living room. I'm a little worried about the cost of lights, pumps and filtration but am having a great time learning while I wait. Thanks for all the inspiration and the great forum! 
Adam Blundell View Drop Down
Presidency
Presidency

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Adam Blundell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 18 2011 at 7:35pm
WELCOME!!!! It's great to have you here.

I recommend checking out some tanks in your area. You'll meet some cool people and get some great ideas on what it is you want to keep.

Enjoy the ride!

Adam
Come to a meeting, they’re fun!
Mark Peterson View Drop Down
Paid Member
Paid Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mark Peterson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 19 2011 at 1:52pm
I agree with Adam. Checking out other hobbyist tanks and learning from them is the way I gained much of my knowledge. I've tried to pass on that knowledge and experience in the threads linked below.
Personally, I'd suggest three things:
1. Read the "Secrets of an Affordable Reef Aquarium" linked in Reefkeeping Tips below.