Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Can someone lend some insight in to this?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
SkylerS View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SkylerS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can someone lend some insight in to this?
    Posted: May 11 2012 at 6:51pm
Thanks Mark.  I'm glad the forum is here for this kind of thing.  I know enough about the chemistry that small adjustments are best, but I'm still learning what "small" really means to different measurements.  As stated, originally the reef calculator indicated I add 12 oz of my calcium supplement, I only added like 2 (small changes) and the alkalinity was 4 tsp of baking soda, and I mixed this and only added half the solution.  Had I added all of each I imagine I would be posting today that my tank was dying.  haha.    I've been in to saltwater for about 2 years now, but for the first 1 1/2 years it was mainly fish and soft coral.  So my branching out into LPS and some SPS, I'm still fairly a newbie in that regard.  I never had to doctor water parameters before with just fish and softies.  I run a large skimmer so I get plenty of aeration in the tank, everything seems nice and happy so everything worked out nicely I think.  Your suggestions are duly noted Mark.  Thanks for all the info.
Mark Peterson View Drop Down
Paid Member
Paid Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mark Peterson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 11 2012 at 5:04pm
The pH will recover on it's own. Never, ever mess with pH using chemicals. pH can be easily increased by agitating the water or adding a bubbling airstone.

Raising Ca from 360 ppm to 460 ppm was not a problem, though I would not raise it any faster than that in one swoop.