Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Hello and Questions

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
[email protected] View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cliff-king@live.com Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hello and Questions
    Posted: June 08 2012 at 8:32pm

I am reintroducing myself to the hobby. My name is Clifford King and I am a second year veterinary student up in Washington State. I grew up in Utah and attended Utah State University until moving up here for more school. While at USU, I started and kept a 90 gallon tank that had a 40 gallon refugium. Now, I am have started a 29 gallon biocube. I went with the biocube because it seemed like it didn't need a lot done to it to start a mini reef. I set up the tank about 3 1/2 weeks ago. It has 40 lbs of LS, 30 lbs. LR and 5 hermit crabs. The Nitrate levels are finally back to 0 and I had a small diatom bloom about a week ago that is almost gone and I added a clown yesterday. That being said, I have gotten a lot of information from my LFS and a fellow class mate that I need to change out everything. So, I come to you with questions.

To start off, I envision my tank eventually with a wide aray of different zoanthids, a hammer coral and a frogspawn, Along with 2 clowns, a cleaner shrimp, and a diamondback goby. Does that sound reasonable?

Should I change out the bioballs (origianlly I took out about half of the ones that it came with)?

Do I need to add a protein skimmer? IF so, what seems to be the best that will fit in the back compartment?

Should I add on a light on the back and add ceulerpa/ chaetomorpha?

Here are some pics
Mark Peterson View Drop Down
Paid Member
Paid Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mark Peterson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 08 2012 at 9:28pm
Welcome back.
Looks very good, but it's so small.Wink