Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

yellow tang sudden death?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
SNOWRIDER View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SNOWRIDER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: yellow tang sudden death?
    Posted: December 16 2012 at 10:17am

Im fairly new to the whole saltwater I have had a 29G bio cube but i just upgraded to a 46g bow front with a 20g sump, to find out now that i didnt upgrade enough. I have right now in my 46 two platnium clowns (a pair) and one snowflake clown, with a dragon goby. I have a serpent star, snails and hermits as well, for coral i have a kenya tree some frogspawn and two anenomes, and some fuzzy mushrooms. I went to my LFS two days ago and was looking at yellow tangs (small) and he had two off them. They were kept alone by them selfs without any lights over them besides just your normal room lights and sunlight comeing threw the glass. He said that hes had them for about three weeks now and they looked healthy, they were eating i saw him feed them. The next day i decided to take some of my water up to him and have him test it.  Everything was good my alk was a little low but other than that everything was okay, i didnt see what the exact numbers were though. SO i bought the yellow tang took him home, maybe a 25min drive and acclimated him for about 40min and then put him in. He seemed fine and was swimming around, until i came down this morning and found my serpent star and hermit crabs had almost eaten his whole body already on the sand bed. I was wondering if anybody has any advice or info of why this happened. I dont know if i acclimated him wrong or if it was because he wasnt under any lighting until i put him in my tank, oh i have two t5s and one AI sol. Or if there could be something in my tank that could of killed him. Any info would be great thanks.

75g Just starting out, Stand and canopy From Richins carpentry.