Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Help with Lights

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
80cent View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 80cent Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help with Lights
    Posted: February 25 2013 at 7:44am
I am new to the forum. I've been lurking for a while, but there are a few things I could really use some help with. I have never done a salt water tank before, but as I am finally finishing my basement, I'm going to have one really soon. The issue is that I currently have 46 gallon bowfront-- something I thought was huge-- and I'm not sure if I'm going to stick with that or get something in the 90-120 gallon range.

First, if I did stick with that 46 gallon tank, what would you recommend as far as lights go? I've been loving the floating canopies I've seen around, but I'm not clear on the pros/cons between T5s or LEDs. What about something like this: (http://www.amazon.com/Coralife-Aqualight-Aquarium-Lighting-Fixture/dp/B000F5M2JW/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_S_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=3K4SH4FN4DHT4&coliid=I1EIQ01PEHGBU)-- would that work?

Second question. If I did get a larger tank (90-120 gal,) what would you suggest at that point? Thanks!
Fatman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Fatman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 25 2013 at 8:35am
If you start with LEDs they will move over to the larger tank.  You'll just need to add additional units to get the coverage.  There are a lot of people changing over to LEDs and lots updating them to get the latest features.  This brings a lot of high-end LEDs to the forum classified at a reduced price.  They are popular enough to hold their value well so I don't expect to see the price be a "steal" at this point.

One issue with buying someone's used ones is matching them later when you set up the bigger tank. 

Fat