Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New Guy - First Reef Tank :)

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Blake View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Blake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New Guy - First Reef Tank :)
    Posted: August 22 2013 at 2:14pm
So I am new to the world of saltwater tanks, but excited to get started. I had a freshwater tank for many years and have always wanted to try out a reef tank! I don't have much in terms of expenses so I am going to use my existing 30gal tank. I know it isnt to big and its harder to manage smaller volumes of water, but in terms of cost it will make more sense for me. Also, I may be moving within the year and a 30 gallon tank seems easier to move :)

So I'm looking for some help. I've read quit a bit but there seems to be many different options/methods for filtering. Enough to leave me a little confused. So here is what I think will best help me understand. I've read about all sorts of things, sumps, protein skimmers, refugiums, power heads, pumps, etc... I guess what would help me understand best is what exactly I need to be monitoring (like salinity, nitrates, etc) and what I use to keep them in check. For example to help keep nitrate levels in check use a protein skimmer (I hope I'm right in saying that).

I know its a lot to answer so I am happy if someone can point me to a good article or other online source :) So far I think I've decided that I want to use a sump to help increase my water volume. Probably a 10 gallon sump because I think i have an extra 10 gallon tank and it will fit under my 30 gallon tank out of sight. I don't know exactly how to set up the sump yet, or what exactly to put in it because I've read so many things :) Anyway, I really appreciate the help! i'm excited to get things started :)
AcroNem View Drop Down