Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Reliable water level sensor for < $20

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Carlsson View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Carlsson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Reliable water level sensor for < $20
    Posted: October 19 2013 at 3:49pm
I've had some bad experiences with the floating switches for my DIY ATO. They've failed twice in the "ON" position. Luckily, I only have 5 gallon RO/DI water reservoir connected to my DIY ATO and in the 160 gallon circulating volume system it did not cause too big of a salinity change.

The problem is that in my set-up the switches have to be quite close to my Eheim 1262 return pump and the strong magnetic field produced by the motor permanently magnetizes the switch reeds and they remain permanently closed ("ON" position) after about a week. Even after moving things around and creating ~9 in distance between the pump's motor and the switches, they have failed again.

I then tried a different route: no moving parts (floats), no magnetic switches. I have just finished a prototype of an Arduino based ultrasonic water level sensor. It uses a small microprocessor controller (Arduino Uno - $15 on EBay) and an ultrasonic distance measuring device (HC-SR04 - $3 on Ebay) to read the distance between the device and water in the sump. I have written a short code to run the Arduino which allows to specify the desired distance between the HC-SR04 and the water in the sump (and thus specify the water level). It checks the water level every 30 min (that can be changed) and sends a 5V signal to a relay ($5 on EBay) to turn on the ATO pump. I use a small 12V DC pump, but the relay would have no problems running even a giant 110V pump. Once the pump is on, the device checks the water level every 0.5 seconds and shuts off the pump when the desired level is reached. It then goes to sleep for 30 min.