Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

weird questions...

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
TJAy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TJAy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: weird questions...
    Posted: April 10 2015 at 8:32am
Hello,

I started a little salt water nano, so obviously the virus spread and now i want to convert my 55 gallon fresh to salt. Most of my questions are about cutting corners because i'm a poor college student...

I want it to be for one moray eel and for now be a FOWLR tank only. so my questions...

I have play sand in the tank is it horrible to use? or do i have to buy new sand?

I have a 48 in T8 shop light with 6500 daylight bulbs. Will that keep the live rock alive? will it be enough to grow Coraline? 

I also have a nice canister filter for the tank. should i run it? or should i take the filters out and just throw some carbon in there? any thing else it would be good for? 

Thanks so much
TJ
Mark Peterson View Drop Down
Paid Member
Paid Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Mark Peterson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 10 2015 at 9:27am
I believe I can help. I've been called the "King of Cheap". I know how to keep a lovely marine aquarium for pennies. Of course I'm full of opinions, sometimes referred to as BS. Wink

First of all, lets talk about FOWLR, which, for those that don't know, stands for "Fish Only With Live Rock". That's actually an outdated phrase because much more is known about reefkeeping today than 20 years ago when that phrase was coined. Did you know that about the only things that aren't safe from an Eel are shrimp. That means you can keep an Eel with coral in a reef aquarium. Sometimes Hermits may be at risk, but Snails are usually safe, not prey for an Eel. Depending on size and type of eel, there may be "no worries mate".