Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Nate's 210g Tank

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
nateprice View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nateprice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nate's 210g Tank
    Posted: June 02 2015 at 8:50pm
This is my first post on the forum and I debated starting out by introducing myself on the introduction section, but ended up going here first. I am new to the hobby and have a lot to learn, but I've done quite a bit of reading and think that I'm off to a pretty good start. Reading about other peoples tank builds has been really helpful to me so I wanted share what I've got so far.

The Tank and Sump

I read quite a bit about working with acrylic and ended up building the tank from acrylic sheets. The dimensions are 72"x30"x24"(width,height,depth) with 1" cell cast acrylic on the sides and 1/2" on the bottom. I put 4" of euro bracing on the front of the tank to make sure that it wouldn't bow out. Then I put a coast to coast external overflow on the back which prevents bowing out on the back and saves some space inside the tank. 

The sump is ~100 gallon with 48"x18"x24" with 1" cell cast acrylic on the sides and 1/2" on the bottom. This size of the tanks worked well for me since I was able to make the sump and the tank from two full sheets of 1" and 1 sheet of 1/2" acrylic with very little waste. 

Plumbing

I used beananimal style overflow plumbing (http://www.beananimal.com/projects/silent-and-fail-safe-aquarium-overflow-system.aspx) with three 1.5" standpipes to get the water from the top tank to the bottom one. I wish that I would have used a gate valve instead of a ball valve to adjust it, but it hasn't been too hard to get the flow right and it is very quiet. I put some unions in to make it easier to work on(after learning the hard way).