Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

To vacuum or not vacuum...

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
WaitForIt... View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WaitForIt... Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: To vacuum or not vacuum...
    Posted: February 17 2016 at 9:46am

Hello all,

I'm new to reefkeeping and new to the forum as well.  I have had a lot of differing opinions on many different topics, so I'm still trying to work out what will work best for my tank.  In this case, I am trying to decide whether or not I should vacuum/stir the sand to help rid the bed of excess waste and nutrients.  I have a small/moderately sized patch of cyano growing.  Some say vacuum and lights out, and others say don't vacuum because it could release toxins and crash the tank.  Any other opinions I should consider?

thanks!

It is possible that longing for something is actually better than having it. Satisfaction is the death of desire.
Krazie4Acans View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Krazie4Acans Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 17 2016 at 10:27am
What a loaded question.

Before we answer that lets get some more information about your tank. How long has it been setup? was it brand new when setup or an established tank that was moved? Have you tested your water parameters and if so what were the values? What do you have in your tank providing water flow and circulation? What are your feeding habits? How many fish are in the tank?

In general I go by two rules of thumb. If you haven't been vacuuming then don't start. If you have been vacuuming then don't stop. These are general and there are obviously ways to start and stop without causing too much trouble in your system.

Lets start with a few answers. Krazie
My ocean.
90g (yup, won it!), 40g, 28g, & 10g Systems
PADI Advanced Open Water
Tank Thread: