Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Clown staying in top corner of tank

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
TheGolden View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheGolden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Clown staying in top corner of tank
    Posted: April 06 2018 at 8:39pm
I am brand new to the hobby and have just added my first fish, a clown.  My tank is at the tail end of cycling and is looking good.  However, the clown will only hang out in a top corner of the tank, just behind my ATL and away from the return pump flow.  It seems bugged by any water movement and wants to hide, but I don't know why it doesn't use the rock below.  It feeds well and swims around a tad when the pumps are off during feedings or other times.  A store employee said that this isn't completely uncommon and when I am ready for an anemone, to introduce the fish to it by using a strainer and hope that the fish will like it and go to it once it is in the tank.  Is my fish ok? It has only been 3 days since the fish has been in the tank so maybe he is just feeling things out.  What can I do to make him more comfortable and feel like he can swim around an use the whole tank and use the rocks to get cover rather than the top corner.  I just feel he is nervous about something.  #paranoidrookie
knowen87 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote knowen87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 07 2018 at 8:36am
I would not worry about it to much. There are a few clowns I know that prefer to stay in the corners. I would just give it some more time and see what he does. Can you tell us some more about your setup? How big is it? How long have you had it set up? What type of equipment do you have?
Hogie View Drop Down