Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Propegating Live Rock, is it Possible?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Kevin View Drop Down
Paid Member
Paid Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kevin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Propegating Live Rock, is it Possible?
    Posted: October 05 2002 at 11:59am
I am new to this and I have heard a few things about how you can propegate live rock.  I have heard that you can buy a small amount of live rock and put it in a tank, then put in some reef rock with it that is not live, and after a while the reef rock will get the same bacteria and things growing on it and it is then essentially live rock.  I was just wondering if anyone has had any experience doing this?  Was it successful?  How long does it take for the other rock to become live rock?  Can you only use reef rock or are there other types of rock you can use? 
Adam Blundell View Drop Down
Presidency
Presidency

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Adam Blundell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 05 2002 at 3:08pm

Kevin,

Everyone I know of is mixing live rock with non live rock.  It is incredibly common.  Most recommend using aragonite base rock for lets say around 50% of your rock, then putting in with it 50% live rock.  Yes it will grow over.  Nothing beats 100% live rock, but the cost is such that many use aragonite base rock.  However, live rock is available right now for dirt cheap prices in the buy sell trade area of this web site.  Look there for some deals. 

Adam 

Come to a meeting, they’re fun!
Firefish View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Firefish Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 05 2002 at 8:05pm