Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New to Utah

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
tylerisaac View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tylerisaac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New to Utah
    Posted: October 25 2011 at 12:02am
Hello folks!

My name is Tyler, and I'm coming to Salt Lake from Boston for the year on November 7th. I graduated from Boston University with a BA in Marine Science in May, and I'm moving to SLC where my girlfriend (who I met while we studied abroad in the Turks and Caicos Islands last fall) is finishing her senior year at Westminster. I'm really excited about a reef club out here! I grew up in CT and was a member of the CT Area Reef Society from the beginning of my first tank, and they were such a great help and guiding hand to me, so I'm hoping to get involved in another club :)

I don't know where to start with my interest in marine aquariums. I've kept things in glass boxes ever since I could figure out how to catch frogs and salamanders, and started my first saltwater aquarium back in 2003, a 135g. That turned into a 300g coral propagation tub, which turned into a small clownfish breeding experiment/business by 2006/2007. I had to sell it all off to go to BU, and at school I got my aquarium fix by working in the BU Marine Program wet lab. I was the head assistant technician there for three years, and just spent the summer working at the New England Aquarium in the Lobster Aquaculture program. So it's safe to say I love and need fish tanks in my life!