Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

new to hobby

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
sillyfrag View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sillyfrag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: new to hobby
    Posted: March 05 2012 at 12:39pm
Hello my name is neil i am new to the hobby. i have had freshwater tanks for almost 20 years.  i am going to buy an existing saltwater tank that is already up and running.  i need to move the tank and the occupants.  i need help!!!  i am concerned about the fish.   any advise will be greatly appreciated 

thanks Neil 
Trevor40 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trevor40 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 05 2012 at 1:02pm
In the past I have just put the fish in buckets with a heater and powerhead. Take your time setting up the tank and if the sand is super dirty that your moving, consider replacing most of it or rinsing it out.
Call or Text (801)834-3119
ksmart View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ksmart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 05 2012 at 1:06pm
Welcome! this is an awesome forum and you will find tons of help here! what size of tank are you picking up?

I've moved tanks a few times. Here is how I like to do it. Make sure you have the place planned out where you want to put the new tank. Make sure you have extra salt water mixed and ready at your house in case of an emergency.   Make sure you take enough buckets and/or totes for the water and the livestock. Try and bring with you as much of the water back as possible.

The fish and coral will be ok for a little while in buckets. I moved a tank from Park City to Bountiful with minimal loss. what I did was unplug all the equipment, (lights, heaters, pumps, skimmer, etc.) and pulled them out.