Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Not enough lighting?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
craigory23 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote craigory23 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Not enough lighting?
    Posted: November 18 2013 at 9:24am
I'm new to saltwater and have had a 30 gal running since March. I've finally learned to appreciate water changes and tank chemistry and my water parameters have been consistently good for the past 4 months. I'm running an improvised light fixture. 1-24 inch actinic 420 and 1-24 inch 10000k. I'm beginning to worry that I possibly don't have enough lighting. My corals for the most part aren't doing poorly, but the only thing doing amazing is a frogspawn and a colt coral. My zoas, hammer, torch, and mushrooms just aren't coming out like they should. I've tried them all in different heights of the tank and messed with the flows to and can't figure it out. Any suggestions on lighting or something totally different? If you were setting up t5s for a 30 gal, what would be your set up?
Ann_A View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ann_A Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 18 2013 at 10:34am
What are the dimensions of your tank?

Also, what are your parameters?

Do you have fish? If so, what do you have?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote craigory23 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 18 2013 at 10:56am
Nitrite and nitrate:0
Ammonia:0
Salinity: 1.024
pH:8.0
Temp:78

Tank dimensions are 30x12x18

Fish in the tank are 1 yellow tail damsel, 1 3 stripe damsel, 2 clowns, and 1 engineer goby.
jwoo View Drop Down
Presidency
Presidency

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jwoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 18 2013 at 11:08am