Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

cob web looking secretion on acro

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
rmw2g View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rmw2g Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: cob web looking secretion on acro
    Posted: December 06 2013 at 8:43pm
Anyone have any idea what this cob web looking crap is on one of my acros? sorry for the bad pic. if anyone has any info or insight i can try to get better pics, but if you're reading this thanks for taking your time. 

The coral is new just bought it wed afternoon and it didnt have it when it was in the show tank I bought it from. it looked healthy and the polyps were out. And while im new to keeping acros, I did some research before making the jump from years of successful soft and lps keeping. In doing the research I found that acros can secrete mucus when stressed, I hope thats all it is. so here are my observations on the tank

-water perams are fine and well within normal ranges,
-as always I did a 20% WC on tuesday 24 hours before a planned buy,
-none of my other corals are showing signs of stress
-the mucus does not seem to be spreading to other corals like neighboring acros or montis

any help would be appreciated

Thanks!
Ryan 

Less Technology. More Biology.
Mark Peterson View Drop Down
Paid Member
Paid Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mark Peterson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 07 2013 at 8:09am
Aloha Ryan,

It looks to me like the mucous feeding net of a vermitid worm. You know what that is, right?
Has the mucous net disappeared overnight? If not, you can use your hand to waft it off or use a turkey baster. I use a large syringe in place of a turkey baster.
A syringe or turkey baster is good for feeding detritus to your coral. Do you know about that technique?