Utah Reefs Homepage
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - I'd love some input on stocking levels for a 55g
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

I'd love some input on stocking levels for a 55g

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
CMcTay View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CMcTay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: I'd love some input on stocking levels for a 55g
    Posted: February 23 2015 at 9:47am
It turns out there isn't much in the way of resources for stocking salt tanks in terms of hard rules of thumb, and I am still pretty new to this hobby in general. So, I defer to those that have more experience than me that can guide me :)

It's a 55g, for filtration it has an HOB marineland penguin rated for 50-70, a UV sterilizer of some kind (I've never seen these things before), and a reef octopus protein skimmer. Also tons of live sand and ~70lbs live rock.

I already have:

Two ocellaris clowns

A Wheeler's goby

A pistol shrimp

A diamond goby

A Hector's goby

Here's the fish I have my eye on for adding:

Longnose Hawkfish

Flame Hawkfish

Valentini Puffer

Blue Dot Jawfish

Adorned Wrasse

Red-lined Wrasse

Midas Blenny

Flasher Wrasses, a male and two female

I selected the above using liveaquaria's compatibility chart and min tank size ratings for all... But I have no idea if a 55 can comfortably house ALL of them, I assume I'll have to pare down the list quite a bit... unless the filtration is all that matters in keeping them comfortable? Any additional advice on the interactions between these species is super welcome, as well.
Marcoss View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Marcoss Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 23 2015 at 9:55am