Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Nitrate spike

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
jsol12 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jsol12 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nitrate spike
    Posted: July 29 2015 at 11:33pm
Sorry I'm sure this is a total newbie question, but google isn't giving me any satisfactory answers.  I added a few corals on 7/24, my 2nd total batch so far, and besides the zoas, the others haven't done well.  My other corals (duncan, blastos, purple gorgonian, zoas) are looking fine.  I last did a 10% H20 change on 7/16.  I checked the full parameters on Sunday 7/26, the NO3 was 5 and everything else was fine.  Yesterday I felt like the corals looked worse so I did a quick strip and everything was fine again, NO3 reading about 5.  Today I started to worry and started checking the parameters again and the NO3 came back at 20. Also the alk had dropped to 7.6, and was normal on the strip yesterday and 8.4 on sunday. pH and Ca are unchanged throughout. (8.2/400..i know Ca low, I dosed again today) I don't understand what would cause this spike.  I haven't added anything new, nothing to my knowledge has died, and I haven't done anything drastically different with feeding, although I have bumped up the amount I feed a little bit since I added the corals.  I run a skimmer, carbon, and I have a refugium with rubble and a little live rock and chaeto.  I have a pretty good sized clean up crew.  I have been dealing with algae off and on, which I understand is pretty normal for a newish tank, but lately it is has really subsided so I'm kind of at a loss.