Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Hello

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
pigwrestler View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pigwrestler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hello
    Posted: October 20 2016 at 11:54pm

Hello,

My name is Chris Saunders I am a science teacher at Venture Academy located in Marriott-Slaterville or some people might know it better as north Ogden. We are a charter school that uses expeditionary learning. A major portion of our curriculum is integrated into long-term, deep study of topics. We call these long-term studies Learning Expeditions. We use the term “expedition” metaphorically. Lewis and Clark went, not on a trip, but an expedition--an incredible and unforgettable journey in which they met challenges, solved problems, and arrived at a destination that seemed unattainable.  Using the term “expedition” in the phrase, “learning expedition,” adds the sense that this learning experience will not just be a "lesson", or a "unit" to cover.  It will be instead a deep, wide, and engaging learning experience that may take anywhere from several weeks to several months to accomplish. 

For being a relatively small middle school, Venture’s 6th to 8th offers an impressive array of elective offerings that give students the opportunity to pursue their interests.  They also provide teachers with opportunities to teach courses in which they have a particular interest.  Teachers often make use of local resources (nature, experts, and fieldwork) to enrich the experiences.