Print Page | Close Window

Mad Dawg's 14g nano

Printed From: Utah Reefs
Category: Main
Forum Name: Tank Threads
Forum Description: A place to show off your tank build.
URL: http://www.utahreefs.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=38222
Printed Date: April 20 2024 at 3:36am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Mad Dawg's 14g nano
Posted By: Mad Dawg
Subject: Mad Dawg's 14g nano
Date Posted: January 27 2010 at 6:14pm
Hello all.  My name is Todd and I got a 14 gallon Oceanic BioCube for Christmas that I need to get started.  I am planning on a mixed reef setup.  I've got a lot of experience on the fresh side of things but don't really have much experience on the salty side.  I've got a few questions to get me started.

Where is the best place to buy cured live rock and live sand?  I'm looking at either pacific or porous aquacultured live rock unless I should be looking for something else.  I prefer the aquacultured for "earth" reasons.  

What is the best salt?

What powerhead should I use?

What heater should I use?

Should I replace the stock Coralife compact fluorescent lighting?

Thanks for any help and advice you can provide.  I am excited to get involved with the reef community here.

-------------
Todd
14g nano mixed reef project

Replies:
Posted By: CapnMorgan
Date Posted: January 27 2010 at 6:30pm
If you plan on keeping any SPS corals I would swap out the lighting for Metal Halides. Salt mix is mostly personal preference. I like Reef Crystals. Any good name brand heater that is rated for 15 gallons should suffice. For powerheads I don't think you'll find much better for the price than a koralia nano or #1. The best and cheapest place to find sand and rock is from other hobbyists. Usually you can get some for free. What grain of sand are you looking for? I have about 3-4 gallons of reef sand if you're interested. 

-------------
Steve