Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Retro fit help

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
JD_Duval87 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JD_Duval87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Retro fit help
    Posted: May 22 2017 at 2:23am
Hi everyone! New to the board but not to the hobby. But i recently purchased a 24G JBJ Nano tank, and I'd like to retrofit an AI Super Blue into the lid, I'm not experienced in this area however. Could anyone send some suggestions or help in anyway? Thanks very much in advance!
Krazie4Acans View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Krazie4Acans Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 22 2017 at 8:59am
Check out the DIY section. I believe that there are a couple of 24g JBJ light hood modifications covered there. I'm not sure if there is one for the AI but it may give you enough details to fill in what you need.

I had a 28g JBJ that I did a retro LED build in that worked pretty well. My issue was that the hood is soo close to the water surface it is really hard to get the LED's to blend well before they get to the coral. I ended up building a small frame and raising the hood up about 3.5" off the tank to get mine to work well. You may find it easier to run it without the hood and hang the light over the tank instead of trying to fit it into the hood.
My ocean.
90g (yup, won it!), 40g, 28g, & 10g Systems
PADI Advanced Open Water
Tank Thread:
Aquaristnewbie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aquaristnewbie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 22 2017 at 1:54pm